Oh… But it WAS Loverly!

Standard

“I could have danced all night….. I could have danced all night…. and still have begged for more!”   Ah yes….. I could have listened and watched and enjoyed all night… but the show must come to an end sometime!

I finally got to see My Fair Lady at Hale Theater tonight.  I was waiting for a night when a couple of special girls I adore would both be on the stage at the same time since they are in different casts, and tonight was the night it worked out.  Here’s my thoughts on the show:  Delightful…  Loverly…  Magnificent!

I’ve always been a fan of Lerner and Lowe’s My Fair Lady.  I fantasized as a kid being in that show.  It just never worked out for me to be a part of a production of it.  Now…. I get to live my fantasies by watching other people I adore play those parts!  And they were magnificent.  Better than I would have been, I’m sure.

Perhaps part of the charm in the story line is the fact that it’s kind of a Cinderella story.  The rags to riches story.  But, have you ever wondered what really would have become of Eliza if she had been left to fend for herself?  She’s a spirited and strong character and she probably would have been fine just as she says in the song:  “Without You!”  But then, where would the fantasy fairy tale ending have been?

As usual, Hale does a fabulous job putting a show together.  I was so proud of so many of my friends tonight.  Mark, Deb, Kelly, David, Ali and many more!  If there’s one show I’ve always wanted to be a part of, if for no other reason than the costumes…. My Fair Lady is it.  I would have loved to have been a part of the beautifully costumed Ascot Gavotte number.  Love that black and white theme!  The costumes were wonderful!  Just let me prance around in one of those costumes with my nose in the air like an aristocrat for just a few minutes…  Pretty please?

Well done cast.  It truly was loverly!  Thanks for giving me another wonderful night of losing myself in the moment.  I’m always grateful for those moments of live theater when I get caught up in the story and the character portrayals and am taken far away for a few minutes!  Particularly when it’s done by people I adore!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

 

 

2 responses »

    • Thanks Ramona! I enjoy your blog too…. you need to add a “like” button to you blog so it will post it on my page when I like it! Oh… and a You are sweet. Eliza is a part I dreamed of playing when I was a kid but I never had the opportunity! It was fun to watch this show since both of my boys ‘girls’ were in it! One of them being Eliza! She was wonderful. It really was well done. Thanks for commenting on my blog. I would love to see you and visit sometime!

Leave a Reply

