Hearty Squash


One of the things I love about Fall harvest time is enjoying the fruits of your labor…. or in my case…. the fruits of someone else’s labor!  Actually, in this instance, I’m not referring to fruit at all!

I love squash.  I probably don’t buy it and enjoy it near enough…. but I do love it.  I have to say that I miss the wonderful Butternut Squash my Dad used to grow.  In fact… I always had such a good supply of them from his garden, that I very often didn’t get through them before they went bad!  But since my Dad is no longer here…. I have to buy an occasional squash.  

My husband has been subscribing to Bountiful Baskets the last several weeks.  Last week he brought home a great big Spaghetti Squash.  Way too big for just the two of us.  But, as long as it takes to cook them, I figured it was easier to cook the whole thing now and then just use the rest of the ‘spaghetti’ for another meal.

Spaghetti squash is pretty versatile.  Most recipes use it in a similar way that you would use a pasta.  Today we sautéed some onions and garlic in butter, added some fresh chopped tomatoes and then stirred in the cooked spaghetti squash and topped it off will a little parmesan cheese and salt and pepper.  It turned out quite delicious!

I’m usually quite satisfied eating most squash with just butter, salt and pepper…. but spaghetti squash needs a little more flavor, at least in my opinion.  The other half of the squash was shredded and put in a storage bag to use tomorrow.  Since I didn’t flavor it with anything… the sky is the limit for how to flavor it tomorrow!

I love the hearty foods that fall and winter bring!  I’m grateful for them even though we don’t have a garden of our own, (no, we can’t have one… we don’t have room for one in this condo….)   At least I can enjoy that harvest from someone else’s garden!

What your favorite kind of squash?

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a Reply

