The Versatile Sweet Potato

Standard

I know what you are thinking…..  “Is this a food blog or a Gratitude blog?”.  I understand!  I’ve had several posts lately about food, but after yesterday’s successful Sweet Potato recipe…. I just have to share and say how grateful I am for yummy Sweet potatoes.

I don’t remember growing up liking sweet potatoes much.  I was never a fan of the gooey sweet ‘yam’s’ that were served at Thanksgiving.  Even though my Dad was a farmer as a hobby, he never grew sweet potatoes that I remember, so I think the only time I had tasted them was at Thanksgiving.

Then… I grew up…. and so did my tastebuds.  There are many foods I could put on the list of things I didn’t like much as a kid, but as I grew older I learned to like them.   Today my focus is on Sweet Potatoes.

I guess I started eating them a few years ago when we would go to a steak house that served a baked sweet potato with your entree.  I started enjoying them at that time, sometimes with a little cinnamon sugar, but mostly with just butter salt and pepper.

Then some restaurants started serving Sweet Potato french fries.  That’s when I really started liking them.  I liked the savory or salty taste better than adding more sweet to an already sweet potato.  Then I discovered my favorite Sweet Potato fries EVER at Smashburger.  They are flavored with Olive Oil and Rosemary…. so delish!

As I was making plans for what to serve for our Thanksgiving dinner, I discovered a Sweet Potato Soufflé recipe in my recent issue of Clean Eating magazine.  Since it had Rosemary in it as a spice…. I had a feeling that it would be delicious….. and oh my goodness was it!!  It reminded me very much of the flavor of the Smashburger Sweet Potato fries.  (Which by the way….. I blogged about early this year…..)

This recipe from Clean Eating is so good we are planning to use the rest of the sweet potatoes we have to make more.  And…. it was a hit with my company yesterday!  We had very little leftover!  I think that must say something!  Perhaps more people would eat Sweet potatoes more with a little savory flavor instead of the extra sweet!

So, here is the recipe from the 2011 November/December issue of Clean Eating.  (A GREAT Food magazine by the way!)

Souffléd Sweet Potatoes (with Garlic and Rosemary)

(from Clean Eating Magazine)

4 lbs sweet potatoes, scrubbed well

1 head garlic, cloves separated and unpeeled

1/2 cup chicken or vegetable broth

1 1/2 tbsp fresh rosemary leaves, chopped

1/2 tsp sea salt

fresh ground black pepper, to taste

4 large egg whites

1/2 tsp cream of tartar

olive oil cooking spray

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.  Using a fork, prick each potato 2 or 3 times.  Place potatoes on a baking sheet, transfer to oven and bake for 45 min to 1 hour or until softened.  Meanwhile, loosely wrap garlic in foil, sealing tightly.  Place on a separate baking sheet, transfer to oven and bake for 30 to 35 min, until softened by not browned.

Remove potatoes and garlic from oven, and let cool.  When cool enough to handle, peel potatoes, and place in a large bowl.  Squeeze garlic cloves from their skins an add to bowl.  Add broth and use a potato masher to mash until smooth; stir in rosemary, salt and pepper.

In a separate large bowl, combine egg whites and cream of tartar.  Using a electrice mixer, beat on high speed until stiff peaks form, 2 to 3 min  With a rubber spatula, gently fold half of egg white mixture into potato mixture until just a few white streaks are visible. Fold in remaining egg white mixture, allowing a few small white streaks to remain visible.

Coat a 9×13 inch baking dish with a cooking spray.  Add potato mixture, using a spatula to smooth the top.  Transfer to oven and bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until top is lightly browned.  Serve hot.

Serves 10

I hope you enjoy this delicious recipe as much as I do!  I’m so grateful to be discovering the things that can be done with the sweet potato!  Do you have a favorite recipe using Sweet Potatoes?

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a Reply

