Does She….. or Doesn’t She?


Yes….. she does.  I’m not going to lie.  And I’m very grateful that I do!  I would look horribly older than I am if I didn’t!  (Now for those of you whose mind went another direction….. I’m referring to coloring my hair!!)

I started getting gray hairs in my 30’s…. so it wasn’t long after that that I started coloring my hair.  However…. that was the first that I did it!  Nowadays…. even girls in Jr. High and High school color their hair.  I can honestly say that I never did that.  It was a rare thing to do when I was in high school.  At least to my knowledge.  I don’t think girls did it back then, at least not very openly if they did do it.  After all….. what’s the tag line of the old Clairol commercial?  “Does she…. or doesn’t she? …. Only her hairdresser (and now you….) knows for sure!”

The whole point with that was to make people not know that you colored your hair.  It was suppose to look natural.  It’s a very different world now.  Coloring and highlighting is the norm and we usually don’t care if people know it.  (Obviously…. I’m telling you!)  In fact…. the bright colored streaks and fun feathers are all very popular right now.  Those are pretty hard to hide!

I’m a little old fashioned, or perhaps just not daring…. but I pretty much stick to the one color that comes out of the box.  Though I’ve changed shades here and there, it’s never been really dramatic.  I’m still what you’d consider a brunette.  And I’m OK with that. I love my reddish highlights with my current shade…. but I’m still a brunette.

I’m grateful that I’ve learned how to color my hair myself.  It saves me a lot of money and time.  I find myself needing to do it every 5 or 6 weeks.  My hair grows really fast and needs to be touched up that often…. and since that growth is primarily gray…. it needs to be done often!  I like looking younger!

I’m grateful the products nowadays are easy to use…. I don’t use the grocery store brands, however,  but rather a professional brand from Sally’s.  With a few cosmetologists in the family…. they insist that I at least use a good product!  But they are easy to use.

So, today started the next few weeks of a fresh batch of color…. it should get me through the Holidays!  Perhaps people will wonder…. “Does she….  or Doesn’t she?”

I am Grateful!  How are You?

 

 

This one made me laugh…. it goes way back!  But it will let you know where the tag line “Does she or doesn’t she” comes from!

2 Replies to “Does She….. or Doesn’t She?”

Leave a Reply

