Blessings of the Temple


The other day I made a post about how easy it is to take things for granted when we are exposed to them every day.  And today I was reminded of that once again.

I have the opportunity and blessing to be an Ordinance worker in the LDS Jordan River Temple.  Though I only work one day a week right now, I’m able to be a part of the ordinances performed there in the work for the dead.  For those of you that don’t understand that, we believe  that everyone deserves the chance to be offered the blessings of the Temple.  If they weren’t able to participate in them in this life, we do the ‘work’ for them as proxies and give them a chance to accept or reject those blessings in the spirit world.

As I was participating in those ordinances today….. I stopped for a few minutes to pay attention to the verbiage of the blessings that are pronounced on the heads of the proxies for the dead.  Because I repeat those words all the time…. I sometimes forget to really pay attention to the beautiful promises that are being given.  Promises that I pray all my family members will one day be able to have for their own.

It’s amazing what beautiful blessings the Lord has in store for us when we keep the commandments He’s asked us to keep.  Commandments, that by living them, our lives are continually blessed.  Some people would argue that keeping the commandments and living the gospel is too restrictive.  But I don’t agree.  I believe that living them brings so many blessings and joy that there’s nothing I feel like I’m missing out on by doing so.

I’m grateful I have the blessing of working in the temple and being reminded of His wonderful promises to us.  I’m grateful that those blessings are promised to me and to all who chose to do what is necessary to participate in them.  My life is richly blessed.

I am Grateful!  How are You?

 

 

Leave a Reply

