Missed by a Mile (or More…)

Standard

I’m feeling very blessed today.  And I don’t think I even realize how blessed I am yet.

We had a horrific storm sweep through our area today.  One where jet streams moving in opposite directions collide and make for one really bad wind storm!

I hear there were literally 100's of these old trees uprooted

Living in Utah…. we are protected from big wind storms most of the time because of the mountains.  That’s not to say that we haven’t had strong winds before…. but it takes unusual weather conditions to bring wind gusts over 100mph to this area.  Today was one of those days.

Damage done to the fence and back yard area of my nephew and niece's house.

The weather report warned everyone to batten down the hatches…..  I would imagine most people did what they could…. but when the wind starts ripping out large old trees and fences, etc… there’s not much you can do about it!  Many people are without power tonight.  One of those things that we take for granted till we are without it!

The worst of the storm was several miles north of me.  I have many family members and friends that live in that area.  I haven’t gotten reports from all of them yet….. so I don’t know what all the damage is… but so far, every one I’ve talked to has had some kind of damage from the winds.

As wide spread as the damage was….. I feel blessed to have been missed by the entire thing!  I know as I head out that direction this weekend that I will probably be shocked by what I see.  Even though a lot of it will have been cleaned up by then…. I’m sure there will be plenty left to see.  Pictures can only tell so much….. seeing it with your own eyes always is more profound.

I’m grateful that even though they suffered damage to homes, yards, etc…. that all family and friends are safe!  To my knowledge, no one anywhere was severely damaged.  At least…. I hope not!

There’s nothing more powerful than the forces of Mother Nature!  I’m grateful to have been missed by her galling forces today!  Much love goes out to those who have been affected by this!  I hope your power is back on and that you are safe and warm tonight!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a Reply

