Shine Your Light — You Never Know Who’ll Need It


I’m sure that the last few days have brought a profound awareness to several people in the Davis County area as to what it feels like to be in the dark and even perhaps be unprepared besides.  With the fierce wind storms that blew through that area a few days ago…. many were left without power for extended periods of time.  Getting through the night without all the conveniences that we are accustom to can be very challenging.  But what can one small light do for someone who is trying to find their way or seek comfort in that light?

We all give off light by the way we live our lives.  Some people’s light may be compared to a search light or perhaps as strong as a light in a light house guiding a ship through the fog.  Others people’s light may be compared to a glimmer of a small candle…. but none the less, we all have our light to shine.

I’ve always felt that it’s important to be aware of what you say and how you act because you never know who is paying close attention.  I know that at times I say and do things without thinking…. which I can often regret…. but we should all try to be aware of our actions and words.

I had a friend from high school tell me once that I may not have been aware of it, but she had watched me closely over the years and had appreciated my example of friendship to her and how it had affected her.  She was right…. I had no clue!  But I was grateful that I had been a friend to her.  It really made me realize that people can be watching us without our ever knowing!  What are we saying to others with our words and actions?

My goal this year has been to be a more positive person.  I’ve tried through example and the things I say and post to remain upbeat in all situations.  It’s not always easy and I may have failed at times….. but I know that the things I have said or posted have had a positive affect on people, and that has been my goal.  Hopefully I’m learning to shine my light, no matter how big or little it is, to give someone hope, to help them see that they are important and loved.

The most important thing I want you to take away from this post is that we ALL have a light to shine!  No matter how small and insignificant you may feel…. you still have a light to shine!  I was impressed with the following quote, which I believe sums up what I’m trying to say:

“Make Me an Instrument of Your Peace”   by Kent Nerburn
“We are not saints; we are not heroes. Our lives are lived in the quiet corners of the ordinary. We build tiny hearth fires, sometimes barely strong enough to give off warmth. But to the person lost in the darkness, our tiny flame may be the road to safety, the path to salvation.

It is not given to us to know who is lost in the darkness that surrounds us or even if our light is seen. We can only know that against even the smallest of lights, darkness cannot stand. A sailor lost at sea can be guided home by a single candle. A person lost in a wood can be led to safety by a flickering flame. It is not an issue of quality or intensity or purity. It is simply an issue of the presence of light.”

I’m grateful that I realize that I am a source of light to anyone who may be watching or listening to me.  I’m grateful to know that I can try to be aware daily of how I live so that that light can be a guide toward the good.

I hope that you will see that you have a presence of light within you and that you may start to notice that others will and are looking to you.  Let that light be a source for good, be it a flicker or a flood light!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

 

This song popped into my head as I finished this post.  Thought you might enjoy it.

2 Replies to “Shine Your Light — You Never Know Who’ll Need It”

  1. This post reminded me of a poem I wrote years ago about a sailor lost at sea and brought back to safety by a lighthouse. Will have to find it and send it to you.

Leave a Reply

