Another’s Happiness


Today is a day for me to be grateful for other people’s happiness.

It started with me attending the wedding of a friend I worked with in the temple.  Her husband passed away a year or so ago.  That’s never an easy thing…. to lose a spouse.  Yet she pulled through.

Sometimes our lives are lead in directions that we don’t understand…. both the sorrowful and the good.  Chrie was blessed enough to meet someone else whom she had a lot in common, and today was married to that man.  It was such a joy to see the happiness in her face!  You could see that she knew she would have a companion to share the rest of her life with now.  She truly looked radiant.  What a blessing to witness that.

Tonight I got to sing with my friends again.  One of my favorite things to do.  It was fun to be a part of bringing happiness to others in that way.  This one was not for an Assisted Living center like the other night was…. this one was for Nila’s Ward…. the people she goes to church with.  It’s great to look out into the room and see smiling faces….. including my cute niece who came to the show.  She lives in Nila’s ward and I told her she should come…. so she did.  And I believe she enjoyed it!  More happiness!

I was grateful that I got a chance to talk to some friends that I knew in that ward tonight.  I found out that he had been taking this wonderful stuff I work with called ASEA and has seen major improvements in his health.  To the point, as he described it…. on a scale from 1-10, 10 being the worst…  he used to be at a 9 or 9.5 in pain and stiffness and now he says he’s at a 2 or lower all the time.  He was so happy for the changes he had seen over the year and I was happy to see more proof that it works!

Then…. one of the hardest things for me to do tonight was to be happy for someone else who was lucky enough to get cast in a show that I really wanted to be a part of.  I truly was happy for her…. honestly.  I’ve seen her on stage before and I know she will do a fabulous job.  I would even like to go see her play the part.  But in that happiness, comes a little disappointment that I won’t get to share the role with her, since the show is double cast….  someone else will be doing that.  And I can be happy for them…. though I may not even know them.  A little harder to be happy for them…. but none the less I can be happy!

I mean… really…. what are my choices?  It does me no good to be gloomy about it.  I try very hard to believe that there is something else I’m suppose to be doing during that time frame, so it’s better not to be doing a show right now.  I have to admit though…. when it has happened to me in the past… sometimes I don’t think I ever figured out what that reason was….  but life goes on!  It’s what we chose to make it.  Perhaps there really was something I was needed for that I just didn’t recognize at the time.

Right now I choose to be happy.  Happy for my friends who did get cast.  Happy that I was able to bring joy into others lives by entertaining them.  Happy to see someone’s health dramatically improving.  Happy for my friend who is getting a second chance to spend the rest of her life with someone new.  Happy for me because now I get to discover what it is I need to be focusing on right now!  After all….. another person’s happiness really does make me happy!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Here’s one of my very favorite quotes about Happiness.  I learned it many years ago and have never forgotten it:

Happiness is like Jam…. you can’t spread even a little without getting some on yourself!

One Reply to “Another’s Happiness”

Leave a Reply

