Grandma’s Old Fashioned Oatmeal Cookies


I don’t know about you…. but milk goes sour at our house.  (When we even buy it that is.)  We aren’t milk drinkers.  Never have been.    I don’t think I liked milk much as a kid.  Can’t tell you why.  Didn’t hate it….. just didn’t love it!  Consequently, I don’t think my kids drink much milk either.

I’ve had a gallon of milk sitting in my fridge going sour for the last couple of weeks.  Why would I keep it, you say?  Well…. it’s because I have this great old recipe of my Mom’s for Old Fashioned Oatmeal cookies that calls for sour milk.  I don’t very often make them…. but this time, I wanted to make some, so I saved the milk.

Yummy! A fresh plate of Grandma's cookies made by me!

Last night I finally took the time to get some cookies made.  As I measured out the sour milk, I realized that I had enough to make a double batch…. so I decided to take advantage of the fact that I was actually taking time to make them and make a lot!

This is an interesting recipe.  It’s definitely an old fashioned way of doing things.  The first several ingredients are put together in a large pan and then brought to boil for a few minutes.  After everything has cooled down, you just stir in the remaining ingredients.  With the double batch I made……  I had to put it in a larger pan once I started adding the dry ingredients.  The pan I started out with wasn’t big enough.

What I love about these cookies, besides the wonderful flavor and cake like texture, is the memories that are attached to them.  It takes me back to coming home from school on occasion and smelling those wonderful spices and knowing there was a fresh batch of cookies to eat because of it!  It brings back the comforts of home.

Maybe it’s just this time of year, but those kinds of memories are so much more vivid to me now.  I can almost close my eyes and put myself right back in the middle of those feelings and experiences.  I’m a sucker for the old fashioned kind of things!  I love the Currier and Ives feel of family and friends.  And coming home to a fresh batch of old fashioned cookies made by Mom is a Currier and Ives moment for me!

I’m grateful that I have such a great recipes to share with my family and friends.  They may not taste exactly like Mom’s did…. but they are darn close!  Close enough to bring back those cozy feelings!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

 

Here’s the recipe for my Mom’s Cookies.  I’ve added some notes off to the side with some healthier substitutions listed in italics.  (Most of which I used this time)  I promise this is the most moist oatmeal cookie you can ever find!  It’s almost more like cake!

 

Grandma Jen’s Boiled Oatmeal Cookies

2 cups Buttermilk or sour milk (add 1 tsp vinegar to regular milk to make sour milk)

2 cups sugar (may use ½ brown sugar)      (Sub: 2 cups Agave Nectar)

1 cup raisins

1 cup shortening (Sub: ½ c Butter & ½ cup Coconut Oil or all Butter)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

Bring ingredients to a good rolling boil in a large pan.  Simmer for 2 minutes.  Remove from stove.  Add 2 tsp soda.  Stir carefully,  as it will foam up.  Set aside and let cool completely.

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

4 cups rolled oatmeal (not quick oats)

3 ½ cups flour (Sub: 100% Whole Wheat Flour… I used Wheat and Rye flours mixed)

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup chopped nuts (if desired)

Stir eggs and vanilla into cooled ingredients.  Alternately add flour and oats and other dry ingredients.   Mix well.    You may also add 1 cup chocolate chips and/or 1 cup coconut.  (Sub: sugar free choc chips or carob chips and unsweetened coconut)  Drop by the spoonful onto cookie sheet.  Bake at 350 for 15 minutes or until golden brown.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

