Christmas with The Mormon Tabernacle Choir


Have I ever mentioned how much I enjoy listening to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir?  I don’t think I have.  Well I do… along with millions of other people.  They truly are wonderful.

I affectionately call them the ‘Mo Tabs’ …. You know ….. kind of short for MoTown…..  Only not…..    Just the Mo Tabs…… cause I like it.  It’s clever.

Tonight, I’m sitting here in the LDS Conference center in Salt Lake waiting for the Christmas With the Mormon Tabernacle Choir concert to start.  They have guest star appearances by Jane Seymour and Nathan Gunn.  These Christmas concerts have become very popular and are well attended.  They will record the show and then make it available for purchase in a few months…. or, you can watch it on PBS.

Oh my……just sitting here watching the choir file in to their seats is fascinating.  They are so unbelievably orderly!  It’s almost like watching a computerized program evenly filling in the seats on both sides at the same time.  That’s not a good description of what I’m seeing…..  But trust me…..it’s fascinating.

I love hearing the choir sing the sacred music they are so well known for…..  But I love hearing their secular pieces too.  Tonight’s lineup looks like a blend of both. I’ve never seen them perform live…..  So this should be fun………….

Though this is not a picture from this years concert.... it had a very similar look tonight.

(Insert concert here….)

Wow…. Just wow!  What an impressive concert.  I loved being a part of the feeling of being there live!  It’s just not quite the same seeing it on a recording as it is being there.  You just can’t feel the synergy.

Though tonight’s show was actually a dress rehearsal, you’d never know it.  It seemed to go off without a hitch.  I’m grateful for the ‘jumbo tron’ screens they have at the conference center.  That’s a huge building and we were sitting way up in the balcony….. The screens made the concert much more enjoyable.

One of my favorite parts of the evening….. And there were many…..  Was when Jane Seymour narrated the story of Good King Wenceslas.  She would tell a portion of the story in her wonderful british accent and then the choir would sing that portion of the song as well as some dancers acting some things out.  It’s amazing how much more sense the song made once it was explained that way.  Ironically, a friend of mine that is a free lance writer had just written a story that mentioned that song.  He was trying to figure out what the song had to do with Christmas….  now I know!

Though I would have loved to hear more of just the choir singing….I still loved it all.  The guest vocalist, Nathan Gunn was wonderful!  Can you imagine what it must feel like to have the Mo Tabs as your back up singers?  Holy cow!  It must be awesome!

I’m so grateful to my friend Nila foe inviting me to go with her tonight.  It brought the Christmas spirit right into my heart!  Then to be able to come out of the conference center and see the Christmas lights on Temple Square just topped it off wonderfully!  Then we ended the evening at the Lion House Pantry with some soup in a bread bowl!  Now that really warms the heart!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

2 Replies to “Christmas with The Mormon Tabernacle Choir”

Leave a Reply

