Delivery Jobs

Standard

This morning, we mailed out our last packages that need to arrive in time for Christmas.  Last week I mailed a couple of really small packages and we just did them through USPS.  I was pleased to get a notice from my friend that her package had arrived yesterday.  I thought that was pretty timely delivery considering the time of the year.

The packages we mailed today we larger.  In fact, one of them was an old AVON box.  When I sold AVON I loved to save the boxes my orders came in.  They are great for storage boxes.  I happened to have an empty one laying around and the gifts I needed to ship fit in it perfectly.  However….. for some reason, I was a little nervous about whether or not USPS would get them delivered on time.  Smaller packages didn’t’ worry me…. but larger ones did.  You know….. it just seems like most of what they deliver is …. well…. mail!  So I sent my husband to UPS today to mail them instead.

Well…. it cost us more than what USPS would have cost…. but we got a guarantee that they would be delivered by this Thursday. That was reassuring news to me since I was worried about them getting there on time.

Can I just give a shout out to those who work in this business as delivery people?  It’s an unsung and unthanked job for sure.  My bother in law worked for UPS for many years.  I’m not sure everyone knows or understands the kind of pressure they are under this time of year.  

Our family used to have the tradition of everyone getting together on Christmas Eve for a big dinner and a program followed by a short visit  from Santa Claus.  Well….. my bother in law would always be late getting there because he was out delivering last minute packages for UPS.  Invariably, he wouldn’t make it to the party till at least 7pm…. sometimes later.

In my mind…. that’s a big sacrifice.  Christmas Eve is a pretty sacred time as far as I’m concerned.  It’s a time to be with family and to enjoy the real reason for the season.  The fact that these guys/gals from USPS, UPS, FedEx and other deliveries are out there till late just to make sure we all receive our gifts is something that deserves a big THANK YOU from all of us!

So… I say thank you to whoever will be delivering my packages to Arizona in the next few days.  And I say thank you to whoever will be delivering packages from Arizona to our house in the next few days…. and I say a BIG Thank you to those who will be doing that very late on Christmas Eve night!  It’s a tough job this time of year and they deserve some thanks.

Next time you see a delivery man…. just give him a big thank you!  He’s the only one you can thank at the moment even though there were many other people involved in getting that package to you too.  So be nice and thank the delivery guy!  In fact…. thank everyone you see!  This world couldn’t function the way it does without the whole delivery process!  Thanks to you all…. and Merry Christmas!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a Reply

