Another New Veggie — Baby Bok Choy!

Standard

I think I’ve mentioned before about how my husband likes to buy Bountiful Baskets quite often.  And, usually there are some vegetables in there I’ve never tried and often never heard of.

The last couple of basket’s he’s brought home have had Baby Bok Choy in them.  No…. I’m not a connoisseur of Bok Choy…. so I was at a loss as to what to do with it.  After finally looking up some recipes online…. I decided to give it a whirl.  I ended up combining a couple of recipes I found plus threw in a couple of my own things and I have to say….. it turned out very well!  I would actually make it again!

So…. to make sure that I don’t forget what I did…. I’m going to share with you my own version of Stir Fry Baby Bok Choy.  Unfortunately…. I didn’t think about taking a photo till it was too late…. so I’ll post something similar looking, though it won’t be the exact picture of mine?

Stir Fry Baby Bok Choy with Cashews. While this is not a picture of my recipe... it's very similar in look. This one if from a website called Simply Recipes.

Stir Fry Baby Bok Choy with Cashews

2 Tb. olive oil

1 small bunch green onions, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 lb Baby Bok Choy, cleaned, cut in half lengthwise with larger leaves pulled off

1 tsp Sesame Seeds

Salt to taste

2 tsp Tamari

2 Tb Chicken broth

Pinch or 2 of Chinese 5 Spice

1/2 cup cashews

In large skillet or Wok, heat oil on high. Turn heat to medium high and add green onion and garlic and sauté till slightly brown.  Add 1/2 of the Bok Choy and sauté till starting to wilt, about 2 min.  Add remaining Bok Choy and drizzle a little more oil on top.  Stir fry till leaves are bright green and limp.  Sprinkle sesame seeds and salt in.  Add chicken broth,Tamari, Chinese 5 spice and stir.  Cover with lid till heated through, about 3 min or till Bok Choy is just cooked through.  Stir in cashews.  Serve warm.

There you have it!  It tasted pretty good if I don’t say so myself!  Quick and easy!   None of the recipes I looked at called for Chinese 5 Spice…but as I was stirring in the Tamari, my nose thought it could smell a little ginger…. and I thought, that would be a good addition in a chinese type dish!  So, there in front of me, sitting with the spices right above my stove, was the Chinese 5 Spice!  I added a pinch to the mix.  I think I might add 2 pinches next time.  The taste was very slight and I don’t think a little more would have hurt.  Most likely it would have enhanced it even more!

Being forced to try new foods is not a bad thing!  I’m grateful that I have that chance and I’m grateful for the internet for giving me a place to go to look up recipes so easily!

Give this one a try and let me know what you think!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

2 responses »

    • I can’t take credit for the photo…. It’s a Simply Recipes photo. I forgot to get a shot of mine after cooking it! When I make it next time, I’ll take a photo and replace it with my own.

Leave a Reply

