Blessings Unmeasured!

Standard

As I lay in bed this morning, my thoughts turned to the many things I’ve been blessed with in my life and I became overwhelmed with gratitude! I truly have a wonderful life!

I’ve been blessed with so many opportunities over my life that have brought me so much happiness!  I’m particularly happy today for where my life is at right now.  Even facing the health challenges I am currently facing….. I am so blessed!  I couldn’t ask for a better more loving or supportive husband.  He IS the best.  I love him so much and appreciate all he does for me which is way above the call of duty!  Thank you, John for entering my life!  You are the best thing that has ever happened to me.  Your children could not ask for a better Father and they will all attest to that!

I have 3 wonderful children who I adore.  They are the joy of my life.  I love them so much and know that they can achieve anything they want to in this life.  I pray for them and hope that THEY know they can achieve their dreams!  They are truly wonderful people….. smart, witty, good looking, helpful and loving.  I could go on….. but I won’t lest I give them big heads.  <grin>

I am so grateful to be a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.  It has brought me so much joy and comfort over the years!  One of the many advantages of being a member is having a Ward family.  That’s the unit of the church that you are assigned to in the area you live in.  We meet weekly as a Ward for our Sunday meetings and worship together and lift one another up.  I have been blessed to live in three areas during our marriage and all with terrific Wards and people!  It’s been hard to leave each area when we moved just because of that!  The people I have met and associated with in each area have all been a blessing in my life!  And that includes other neighbors and friends around that weren’t/aren’t members of the church.  We’ve been blessed to live in some great neighborhoods.

Though John and I would like to get out of the condo situation we are currently in….. for reasons that apply to ‘rules’ and the fact that there are a couple of things a home would have that we don’t have here…..  I truly do love my condo!  It’s beautiful and comfortable and provides us with all the necessities of life.  Again, we have great neighbors and friends here and we know we are loved.

I love that John is retired and that we are not tied down to jobs that dictate when we can do things.  We are able to pursue other things both in fun and in making money.  (Which is still a work in progress….)   Time is such a blessing to us.  Though I don’t use it all as wisely as I would like to, I have that option.  Again… truly blessed.

I had a great family life growing up.  I had/have wonderful friends and wonderful precious memories.  I have a terrific family and though I didn’t feel I was really close to my siblings growing up, I have that sense now.  Even though I don’t see my brothers as much as my sisters…. I feel a closeness to them.  I’m grateful for all of them.  My parents were great.  It’s hard to see them get old!  I miss my Dad terribly…. especially in the summer when I long for his vegetable garden and fruit trees!  I miss his silly sense of humor and his loving ways.  I’m just grateful to know that I will see him again someday.  I’m grateful for my Mom.  It’s hard to see dementia setting in.  I don’t spend as much time with her right now as I would like to and feel I should because of my health issues.  Though I do have good days and just need to get out there!  If  I lived a little closer, I know that would be easier for me.  I’m so thankful to my sisters for being there for her!  I know they are wearing themselves out!  I hope to get back on the schedule soon for regular visits.

Wow.  I’m blessed with such awesome friends! Both near and far.  They love and care about me so much.  I just wish we could all see each other more…. but I’m so thankful that we stay in touch!

I’m so grateful for music in my life and how much joy it has brought me in so many ways!  I love to perform and have had some wonderful opportunists to do so.  I have met so many amazing people through my journey with music and theater.  All friends that I love and adore!

I know the Lord is blessing me with my health right now.  I am improving daily and know that I will get through this chemo stuff with flying colors!  I know He has plans for me to stick around for a long time!  It just needs my effort in finding out exactly what those plans are!  It is amazing how a health issue like this will make you think deeply about things that you may not have before.  I’m grateful for the time I’m taking to learn and study about things….. particularly about health and self improvement.

I have a great life!  There’s always things out there that we all wish we had or hope to have someday.  I have those dreams too…. but I truly feel gratitude for where I am right now and what I have….. and as my images says in today’s post….  “Gratitude turns what we have into enough!”

What a wonderful time of year to have these feelings.  They just need to be carried on everyday in my life.  Perhaps it’s time to drag out that gratitude journal again and start reminding myself everyday of what I have to be grateful for!  The list could go on and I haven’t even come close to saying it all here.  I just felt I should be thankful for the things that were meaning so much to me at the moment.  Just recognizing that where I am and what I have is enough!

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you!  I hope you will take the time to be grateful for your life, just the way it is!  Know that we are all here to learn, and the experiences we are going through at the moment are only for our growth and betterment!  Find out what lesson you are to be learning through it!  Hang onto that gratitude and it will pull you through!

I am Grateful!  How are you?

7 responses »

  1. Miss Wanda, I personally am grateful for you and I love to read your posts. They always make me think and think hard. You are the best and I am grateful for you.

    • You, my friend are one of the best things that came into my life! I am so grateful for you and feel so blessed to have met you! You’ve added a spice to my life that was missing! I adore you!

  2. I just found this blog this morning, Thank you for the wonderful posts on gratitude. Love it! Good luck with all the health issues!

    • Thank you, Karen! I need to get back to regular posting like I was last year….. I’m very blessed in my life and love taking the time to remember just how much! Thanks for your thoughts….

  3. Pingback: My Countdown to Thanksgiving – Day Two « Following His Path

Leave a Reply

