Who Knew?

Standard

I remember watching my Grandma Moffitt crochet when I was a kid.  I was always kind of fascinated, but never curious enough to learn how to do it from her.  She crocheted those intricate doilies and crocheted around handkerchiefs.  That’s means working with a VERY small crochet hook and very fine yarn!  Something that takes good eyesight!

By the time I was 9, all my Grandparents had passed away and I never learned a skill from any of them…. something I regret!   (Sure wish someone in the family had Grandma Moffitt’s rice pudding recipe!)

I learned to crochet in a Primary class when I was a young girl, after my Grandma Moffitt had passed away,.  For those of you that don’t know what I’m talking about, Primary is an organization in my church for the children.  It’s the time where they are taught about spiritual things and learn songs about the Savior and loving others.

Back when I was in Primary, and it was in the middle of the week, not on Sunday, they taught the older girls (10-11 yr olds) homemaking type of skills.  We earned ‘badges’ for learning those skill and placed them on a bandana, similar to the way the Scouts earn their merit badges.

I learned to crochet, knit and cross stitch and I don’t remember what else….but it was fun.  I didn’t use those skills much at that young age.  It wasn’t until I was in High School and college that I remember picking up a crochet hook again and making some afghans.

Now…. many years later, I have discovered that I LOVE to crochet!  Even though I haven’t mastered using the small hooks and fine thread like Grandma did (I haven’t even tried it), I still think my Grandma Moffitt would be proud of me!

As I’ve mentioned before here on my blog, probably mostly in my “When Your Life Hits a Wall’ section…. I have crocheted many hats for charity.

Last year, all my hats were donated to cancer centers.  This year, I have created 25 hats that I am donating the to Festival of Trees for their Boutique shop.  All the proceeds from this festival go to Primary Children’s Medical Center.

Over 40 years ago, a committee of women was formed to try and find ways to raise money for the Medical Center to be able to give very much needed medical attention to children who couldn’t afford it.

That committee eventually started the Festival of Trees, which has grown exponentially over the years and now raises millions of dollars every year for the Medical center.

Just a few of the hats I'm donating to Festival of Trees

Just a few of the hats I’m donating to Festival of Trees

My Mom was an original member of that Women’s Endowment Committee.  Last January she asked me if I would donate one of my charity hats to the Festival.  I promised her I would.  Since she passed away in March, I decided one hat would not be enough!  My original plan was to make 15 hats, to represent the number of women on that first committee.  But, I have so much fun making them, I just couldn’t stop myself at 15!

The thing I love the most about making these hats is that my crocheting skills have improved dramatically.  I’m crocheting things I never thought I could and teaching myself how to read patterns!  Grandma’s talent must have rubbed off on me a little!  I’m so grateful for that.  I love that I can pretty much find anything on Youtube I need about crocheting…. it’s a great tool for learning all kinds of crafting skills.

Image

More hats for the Festival!

I look forward to the day when I have little ones (as in grandkids) around of my own to spoil with my creations!  In the meantime, I hope other people will get joy out of my work!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

 

 

If you want to see the rest of the hats I’m donating to the Festival, here’s the link to my Facebook album:

https://www.facebook.com/wanda.copier/media_set?set=a.10201410889247940.1073741830.1045928114&type=3

 

Here’s the link to my Facebook album of all the hats I/we donated to Cancer centers:

 

https://www.facebook.com/wanda.copier/media_set?set=a.4254935925402.166899.1045928114&type=3

One response »

  1. Pingback: Hands to Love With | I Am Grateful! How Are You?

Leave a Reply

