Been There, Done That!

Standard

I think I’ve discovered that I really do enjoy Real Estate.

I’ve been out of the loop for a couple of years, but last Spring I decided to reinstate my license.  I knew that my husband and I wanted to sell our condo and buy a house again and I thought this would be a good time to get back into it.

Since then, I can’t even tell you how many homes he and I have looked at for ourselves!  We thought we had a home Under Contract to buy and then another buyer came along and was able to get it instead because we couldn’t remove the contingency we had on it in time.  Ironically, we received an offer on our condo about 2 hours later!  real_estate_picture

I’ve learned a lot about respecting and understanding the Buyers viewpoint through all this.  Not that I didn’t before, but it’s so much easier to relate to the emotions they go through when you have actually experienced them yourself!

For instance…. since we lost the home we had the contract on, we are on the prowl again for another one to offer on.  I went through a lot of disappointment when we lost that contract.  I had envisioned and dreamed about what I wanted to do to that house.  We really liked the area, etc..  Experiencing that disappointment will help me help my clients deal with it if it should happen to them.

After looking at homes today and getting completely emotional and excited about one we went through, I can understand how easy it is to overlook things that you felt we so important.  A lot of homes are bought on the fly through emotions.  Thankfully, I had created a spread sheet with all the things that are important to me in a home so I was able to make myself go through and check off what it had and what it didn’t have.  In the process, there were a few things that I discovered that were missing that I most likely would have missed because I was so in love with the kitchen, that I was having a hard time seeing what wasn’t there.

Now, don’t get me wrong…. I’ve also discovered in this process that unless I want to build a home that I design myself, I’m most likely not going to find a home that has everything on that list.  My dream home list is pretty extensive after all.

Now that we have checked off the list of haves and have nots on that home,  we need to determine which of those things on that list are the most important features and which I can live without.  That way, we can decide if we want to make an offer without letting emotions take completely over. This is a practice I would recommend all Buyers do.  Make a list and take it with you every time you look at a home you are considering buying.  Don’t let your emotions over ride the things that are important and/or necessary to you in a new home.   Sometimes you just need to sleep on it!

I’m grateful for that list today.  I’m grateful that it was there to keep my emotions in check.  That’s not to say that I still don’t love that house, because I do.  But at least I know what it’s missing and can now decide if I can live without those features.

And from a Seller’s point of view?  Yeah…. I can relate to that too.  The inconvenience of always having to have your home show ready (which is actually a good thing in the long run….) and having to ‘get lost’ during showings, etc..  Been there, done that!

Now, when I’m working with Buyers and Sellers, I’ll have a better understanding of the exact emotions they are going through.  I guess I can say that I’ve walked a mile in their shoes!  I think that will make me a better Agent for my clients.  And in all honesty…. I do love helping Buyers find just the right home and Sellers be ready to list their homes to Sell!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

Leave a Reply

