Almost Gone….


You know the feeling of not always appreciating something till it’s gone?  Or in this case, almost gone….

We have been wanting to get out of our condo and back into a home now for a few years.  We have great neighbors…. we really do, but we have decided that we are NOT suited to be in an HOA (Home Owners Association) where the rules are a little too strict.

Don’t get me wrong…. I don’t mind some restrictive covenants to make sure the neighbors home and yard stay in good shape, etc….. but telling me that I can’t paint my door any color I want or that my husband can’t work on our car inside the garage is a little too strict for us.   Those are only just a few of the rules we find a little too strict for our taste here in this community.

However…. in all honesty, it’s a wonderful community!  There’s so much that is good about it. But, we have decided that it’s time to move on.  The timing has worked out good for us this year to do that.  Though it’s been a little stressful in ways to get this ball rolling, we have finally reached the point where we can make plans for a new home.  Though signatures are not yet complete and delivered at this time, we are about to go Under Contract with a Buyer to purchase our condo.

It’s funny…. but I didn’t realize just how much I really loved my condo till the process of getting it ready to put on the market began.  We have completely updated the upstairs and finished off the basement since we moved in.  And we did it with the pretense that we were going to stay here for good.  In other words…. at the time we started the remodeling, we thought we’d be OK living in the condo for a long time.  (And, yes, we knew the rules and at the time thought we’d be OK with them.)  Even though the condo was initially purchased as an investment property, and we knew we would have to live in it for at least 2 years to lose the Capital gains tax and didn’t thing we’d be staying, once we got here, we decided we liked it.  Therefore…. we put a lot of money into updating the upstairs and finishing the basement because I wanted it nice.  But, after so many HOA decisions that have rubbed us wrong, and the fact that we realized we do need a bigger garage, and a doggie door, and a bigger gathering area, and…. Well, you get the picture.  We just want to get back into a house.

Our Condo
Our Condo

While we were cleaning and de-cluttering a few weeks ago I had a little bit of a melt down.  I was in the basement in the second kitchen/ crafting area that I designed.  I realized how nice it really was and knew there was a very good chance that I might not have that same kind of area in a new home.  I got a little emotional and started thinking about all the other things we’ve done here that I love and wondered how am I ever going to get what I really want in a home and stay within a price range that would work for us?

After a little crying and praying, I had a feeling come over me that everything would be OK.  I needed that reassurance.  It may take a while for what we buy to become completely what we want…. but I know it will get there.

It’s going to be a little hard to say goodbye to this place when the time comes, even though we’ve only been here 6 years.  I’m just grateful that I’ve realized how much I have loved it and will miss it AND the neighborhood!  I’m also grateful that we seemed to have found a Buyer that will love what we have done just as much as we have!  Like the song says: “Don’t it always seem to go, that you don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone.”  That’s life I guess…..  Here’s to the future…. whatever it holds!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

Leave a Reply

