What Would I Do Today IF I Had the Opportunity?

Standard

There have been many times in my life that I wondered if I was ‘born’ at the wrong time.  It usually hits me during a ‘oh woah is me’ time in my spirits….. or when watching an old movie and wishing I could have done that.  And it hits me during modern times for the same reasons.

I love to perform.  Always have.  My Mom said I would live my life through my Barbie doll when I was little.  I acted out everything with her…. including being on the stage.  Luckily, I’ve had many opportunities to perform over the years.  I really have been blessed!  But I guess, at times, I’ve kind of had ‘the grass is always greener on the other side’ as far as my experiences have gone.

When I watched older movies in that ‘mood’ I just described, I would sometimes literally ‘cry’….. why wasn’t I born back then so I could have gone to Hollywood when all those wonderful movie musicals were being made?   I would have loved to do that!  Now, would I have been lucky enough to actually been cast in anything????  I have no idea!  But a girl can dream, can’t she?

Even though I’ve been blessed with so many wonderful opportunities and blessed with fairly decent talent…. I’ve always wondered what it would have been like to be there ‘back then’.

 what-would-i-doIt occurred to me the other day, that I have felt that way many times with today’s younger generations current opportunities.  Where were those awesome current musicals when I was young enough to play those Ingenue parts?  I’m SO jealous of these young kids getting to play such amazing roles!  Though there are some great roles for older women, they are few and far between and the competition to get those parts is huge!  I’ve been lucky enough to land a couple, but not all that I would like to.

Then there is the non-musical theater singing that I love to do.  Another thing that I’ve done for years.  I see all these soloist and groups finding a way to gain an audience and a fan base via the internet.  Again….. where was that when I was younger and was maybe motivated enough to promote myself that way?  Maybe I shouldn’t attach it to age….. but I think I’d have a much harder time gaining a fan base today at my age than the younger crowd does.

I think You Tube and other methods of promoting your talents is a pretty awesome tool.  It still takes money to make a decent video though.  It’s helpful if you have the backing and/or funds to do it.  Also…. some creative producer can make a huge difference.

I guess the thought that really occurred to me was would I do today if I were that young again?  I’m sure I’d have the desire to…. but would I have had the confidence to promote myself?  I don’t really know the answer to that, and I’m not sure I ever will.  I guess my mission in life was not becoming a You Tube or Hollywood star.  But that’s OK.  I’ve had a great life and can still enjoy my music without ever becoming an icon.   The best part is that I have been blessed with talents and I have been lucky enough to be able to share them with others.  And for that….. I am grateful!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

4 responses »

  1. It’s certainly interesting to look back and wonder “what if . . ” In my heart I am not convinced that I would do things much different than I did then. I hope I would, but, truthfully I still have some of the same weaknesses I had when I was younger and I am still working to become better. I guess that is all we can hope to do. Thanks for the post–food for thought.

    • I’m not sure I would have done anything differently either, Gayle….. You just never know. I don’t regret where I am and what life has brought me though. I met may wonderful people in my life…. you being one of them! Thanks for reading my posts. Love ya

  2. You are such a darling, positive lady, Wanda! I am impressed by your attitude and by all that you have and continue to accomplish. I can’t wait to hear what you do next. Oh, and congratulations on being a Grandma!

Leave a Reply

