Hands to Love With


Day 5~

What do my hands do?  Ever so much!

Being a person who likes to create….. I am so grateful for my hands!  There are many creative things I do with my hands but probably the one thing that they’ve been used the most for the last couple of years would be to crochet.  Big surprise for those of you that follow me.

baby-handsAgain, with a reference to cancer…..  losing my hair made me want to crochet myself some hats, which is interesting because I hadn’t crocheted in years and wasn’t even sure I remembered how!  But I did remember…. and with the help of video tutorials on Youtube whenever I had a question, I even learned stitches I’d never done and also how to read patterns.  I was having so much fun that I wanted to crochet more hats than I could wear so I began crocheting hats to donate to my cancer center.

Without going into a lot of detail about all that, between a few friends and I, we donated over 100 hats in 2012 and I continue to crochet them to donate to other worthy causes as well as cancer centers.  I couldn’t have done it without my hands!  You can read a little more about that here if you’d like.

There are many other hobbies that I enjoy doing and some have come and gone over the years, which I think is kind of normal.  But I’ve had fun with them all.

And of course my hands are able to serve others as well as take care of myself, but the best thing I am able to do with my hands lately is hold my sweet grand baby and give him loves.  It’s such a joy to be able to tend him.  I’m glad I have the opportunity and that I’m healthy enough to do that.  They grow so fast, so I relish every minute.  Right now it’s fun to watch him discover his own hands.  It won’t be long before he will reach his little hand out to hold mine.

I’ve waited a long time to be a Grandma….. so hand me that baby!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

Leave a Reply

