My Esophagus!


Day 12~

Now this one may seem like a pretty strange body part for me to pick to be grateful for….. but the esophagus is the way our food gets to our tummy, keeps it from going down our windpipe and also from food coming back up from the stomach!  Now that’s something to be thankful for!

According to Wikipedia, “The word esophagus which derives from the Greek word oisophagos, which means “to carry to eat.”[1]”   I don’t think I’d like it if I didn’t have one!

esophagusNow, there is kind of a funny story attached to me picking my esophagus for gratitude that I wanted to share with you.

When our first son Jon was a baby, my husbands brother Dave was teaching him all about his body parts.  You know…. the regular stuff.  “Show me your nose, show me your eyes, etc, etc.”  One day to be funny he decided to teach Jon where his esophagus was!  It was all kind of a big joke, but it stuck and Dave would always ask him (when he was still little) where his esophagus was.  Since that time, I believe many family members learned where their esophagus was from Dave, including the rest of my kids!  And recently, I told my son that we will have to teach his new baby Benny about where his esophagus is.

So there you go…… now you know part of why I’m grateful for my esophagus!  But really, I do enjoy eating my food…. so I’m grateful my esophagus is one of the good functioning parts of my body to get it where it needs to go for nourishment.

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

Leave a Reply

