High Zygomatic Bones


Day 21~

Wow.  This one is kind of vain, I guess.  I can’t seem to find a lot of information on what cheekbones are actually for…. other than the structure of our face, which again is another thing that makes us each unique.High-Cheekbones

I guess, in considering what I like about my body, being grateful for things that I naturally have that help to make me look more attractive is an OK thing to state.  It just seems like cheekbones is a funny thing to pick!

I have been told over the years that I have high cheekbones.  Here’s what Wikipedia has to say:

“High cheekbones refers to the zygomatic bones in the face of primates, which in certain individuals may be more pronounced than others, causing the upper part of the cheeks to jut out and form a line cut into the sides of the face. High cheekbones, forming a symmetrical face shape, are very common in fashion models and are considered a beauty trait.[1] High cheekbones develop with maturity and are a sign a woman is old enough to be capable of reproduction.[1] According to Cartwright, in males prominent facial features such as high cheekbones and a strong jaw and chin are a sign of a high level of testosterone and are considered attractive physical traits in many cultures.[2]”

So I guess I like my zygomatic bones!  (LOL  Sounds like I’m bragging about ‘Greased Lightning’!)  But I think I’m long past that reproduction phase they mentioned in the definition…..

cameo sketch
This is a sketch of myself and the women I sing with. I’m in the center. As you can see, the artist felt my cheekbones were very pronounced and sketched it as such.

Though I’ve never thought myself to have really pronounced cheekbones, I do try to make them more pronounced when I apply my makeup.  You can see by the sketch I attached, that the friend that drew this saw my cheekbones as quite pronounced!  (I’m the one in the center)  Though this was drawn several years ago, I don’t think we’ve changed much.  (wink wink….)

I’m grateful to have another feature on my face that I feel makes me attractive.  But from now on, I’m calling them my zygomatic bones!

I Am Grateful!  How Are You?

Leave a Reply

