Grateful for Gratitude!


November is a month for Gratitude.  I’ve noticed the last few days on Facebook how people have been making a commitment to post something they are grateful for all month long.  Well…. of course….. this being a gratitude blog….. that made me very happy!  I look forward to reading those posts all month long and even be inspired by them.

I wanted to start the month off (well almost start it off….) by blogging about how I’m grateful for Gratitude!  I have loved taking the time to notice everyday things that I’m grateful for.  It’s been amazing to stop and notice things or reflect back on the day and see small and big things to be grateful for.

For those of you taking the time to post a daily gratitude post during November….. I hope you will find things that perhaps you haven’t thought about before to be grateful for.  We take so many things for granted.  I hope you’ll take the time to notice things that perhaps you haven’t thought about before.  The obvious things are easy to see…. it’s stopping to notice the un-obvious that can be eye opening.

Since I am well into my year of my Gratitude blog…. I’m not going to make this post a check list of things I’m grateful for.  I’ve been doing that all year.  What I would like to do is share with you a collection of quotes that I have found on Gratitude.  There are so many quotes out there…. it would be hard to list them all…..  but these are a few I’ve run across that I thought were quite profound.

I hope you enjoy them and will take some time to maybe make your own list of things to be grateful for this month!  30 things is NOT hard to come up with!  Focus on 1 a day for the next month and see if you don’t notice how things can look up for you.  When we notice and focus on the good in our lives and not the bad…. it comes back to us and we notice even more to be grateful for!

Enjoy these quotes:

If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, “thank you,” that would suffice.  ~Meister Eckhart 

When we were children we were grateful to those who filled our stockings at Christmas time.  Why are we not grateful to God for filling our stockings with legs?  ~G.K. Chesterton 

 If a fellow isn’t thankful for what he’s got, he isn’t likely to be thankful for what he’s going to get.  ~Frank A. Clark

 He is a wise man who does not grieve for the things which he has not, but rejoices for those which he has.  ~Epictetus

 I would maintain that thanks are the highest form of thought; and that gratitude is happiness doubled by wonder.  ~G.K. Chesterton 

 Not what we say about our blessings, but how we use them, is the true measure of our thanksgiving.  ~W.T. Purkiser

 If you want to turn your life around, try thankfulness.  It will change your life mightily.  ~Gerald Good

 Who does not thank for little will not thank for much.  ~Estonian Proverb

 You say grace before meals.  All right.  But I say grace before the concert and the opera, and grace before the play and pantomime, and grace before I open a book, and grace before sketching, painting, swimming, fencing, boxing, walking, playing, dancing and grace before I dip the pen in the ink.  ~G.K. Chesterton

 In all things, give thanks…    ~ 1 Thessalonians 5:18

“In ordinary life we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give…and that it is only with GRATITUDE that life becomes rich.”   ~ Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Here’s to your month of Gratitude!

I am Grateful!  How are You?

Leave a comment